Traffic Safety School

 
ARE YOU ELIGIBLE TO SELECT OPTION “B” TO ATTEND TRAFFIC SAFETY SCHOOL?

The following drivers are not eligible to select Option "B" to attend Traffic Safety School:


A driver who has been assigned court supervision on two (2) occasions within twelve (12) months preceding the date of arrest is ineligible for a third assigned court supervision and will not qualify for court ordered attendance at Traffic Safety School.

WARNING: Drivers who are ineligible to attend Traffic Safety School and select Option "B" will receive a conviction that will be reported to the Illinois Secretary of State and entered on their driving records.
A driver who holds a commercial driver's license (CDL), regardless of whether the vehicle being driven at the time the complaint was issued was commercial or non-commercial, is not eligible for Traffic Safety School and cannot choose Option "B." A driver who holds a CDL must choose Option "A" or Option "C" and should consider seeking legal counsel.

WARNING: Drivers who are ineligible to attend Traffic Safety School and select Option “B” will receive a conviction that will be reported to the Illinois Secretary of State and entered on their driving records.
A driver 21 years of age or older is eligible for the four-hour Traffic Safety School Defensive Driving Course if that person is not currently enrolled in the course and was not enrolled in the course within the previous 12 months.

If a person is found to be ineligible to attend the four-hour course, the Traffic Safety School will, in most cases, contact that individual and offer the opportunity to attend the eight-hour course. There is an additional $20.00 fee for the eight-hour course.

A person is ineligible for the eight-hour course if during the previous 12 months, he or she was enrolled or attended both the four-hour and eight-hour courses.

If a driver is found to be ineligible for both courses, a conviction will be entered and reported to the Illinois Secretary of State. Any overpayment, less a processing fee, will be refunded.


WARNING: Drivers who are ineligible to attend Traffic Safety School and select Option “B” will receive a conviction that will be reported to the Illinois Secretary of State and entered on their driving records.
Drivers under 21 years of age are governed by the Illinois Graduated Driver Licensing Law. Such drivers are eligible for Traffic Safety School under the same rules for drivers 21 years of age and older.

However, a driver under the age of 21 is ineligible for Traffic Safety School if he or she has been charged with one of the following violations:
  • illegally transporting alcohol;
  • passing or driving on the left side in a no passing zone;
  • improperly backing on a controlled access highway;
  • failing to yield the right of way to a pedestrian at a crosswalk or on a sidewalk;
  • leaving the scene of a property damage accident;
  • leaving the scene of an accident without giving aid or information;
  • speeding more than 30 mph in excess of the speed limit;
  • passing a school bus unloading children;
  • reckless driving;
  • failing to stop for an approaching train; or
  • not having a valid driver’s license.
Persons falling into this category cannot receive an order of court supervision and are ineligible for assignment to either the four-hour or eight-hour traffic safety program.

WARNING: Drivers who are ineligible to attend Traffic Safety School and select Option “B” will receive a conviction that will be reported to the Illinois Secretary of State and entered on their driving records.
No, the only court-approved line 4-hour Traffic Safety School course is the one offered by the Northwestern University Center for Public Safety.
Copyright 2014 by Circuit Court of Cook County