Executive Committee reassigns two judges

Released On 10/03/2018

Pursuant to action taken Wednesday by the Executive Committee of the Circuit Court of Cook County, Circuit Judge Mauricio Araujo and Associate Judge Richard D. Schwind have been reassigned to administrative duties. The assignments are effective until further notice. 

The Executive Committee’s decision on the reassignments followed a meeting of the Circuit Court of Cook County Executive Committee convened by Chief Judge Timothy C. Evans. 

The committee is aware of a complaint that Judge Araujo made inappropriate remarks while performing judicial duties. The committee referred Judge Araujo to sexual harassment training and counseling, and the committee referred the matter to the Judicial Inquiry Board. 

The committee is also aware of a complaint that Judge Schwind made an inappropriate remark while on the bench. The committee referred Judge Schwind to sensitivity training, and the committee referred the matter to the Judicial Inquiry Board. 

The members of the Executive Committee who approved the reassignment are as follows:           

Honorable Timothy C. Evans, Chief Judge and Committee Chair

Honorable Grace G. Dickler, Presiding Judge, Domestic Relations Division

Honorable James P. Flannery Jr., Presiding Judge, Law Division

Honorable Sophia H. Hall, Administrative Presiding Judge, Juvenile Justice and Child Protection Resource Section

Honorable Moshe Jacobius, Presiding Judge, Chancery Division

Honorable John P. Kirby, Presiding Judge, Pretrial Division

Honorable LeRoy K. Martin Jr., Presiding Judge, Criminal Division

Honorable Patricia M. Martin, Presiding Judge, Child Protection Division

Honorable Sharon M. Sullivan, Presiding Judge, County Division

Honorable Michael P. Toomin, Presiding Judge, Juvenile Justice Division

Honorable Raul Vega, Acting Presiding Judge, Domestic Violence Division

Honorable E. Kenneth Wright Jr., Presiding Judge, First Municipal District

Honorable Shelley Sutker-Dermer, Presiding Judge, Second Municipal District

Honorable Jill C. Marisie, Acting Presiding Judge, Third Municipal District

Honorable Cheyrl D. Ingram, Presiding Judge, Fourth Municipal District

Honorable Raymond L. Jagielski, Presiding Judge, Fifth Municipal District

Honorable Tommy Brewer, Presiding Judge, Sixth Municipal District                                                                                                          

A judge may be temporarily reassigned to restricted or other than judicial duties whenever there are charges or implications of improper conduct, depending on the severity and nature, under “Illinois Supreme Court Rule 56. Temporary Assignment to Other Duties.” In the Circuit Court of Cook County, administrative duties can include performing legal research, conducting marriage ceremonies and reviewing petitions for reduced court-filing fees for indigent parties. 

A reassignment of this nature is the strongest action that the Executive Committee can take regarding a judge’s assignment status in the Circuit Court of Cook County. The Illinois Constitution requires that any official action beyond that is left to the Judicial Inquiry Board and the Illinois Courts Commission. 


Follow the court on Twitter@CookCntyCourt



An error has occurred. Error: Social Sharing Sites is currently unavailable.
Copyright 2020 by Circuit Court of Cook County